A Body of Water

Beverley Farmer, one of Australia’s great prose stylists, and a pioneer of women’s writing, in her exploration of feminine concerns, and her use of different literary forms – novel, short story, poetry, essay, journal, myth and fairy tale.


Beverley Farmer

Beverley Farmer (1941–2018) was the author of four collections of short stories, including Milk, which won the NSW Premier’s Award for Fiction, and A Body of Water, and the novels Alone, The Seal Woman and The House in the Light, which was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. This Water: Five Tales was longlisted for the 2018 Stella Prize. It was her last work of fiction.

Read More +
Beverley Farmer

This is a splendid story (This Water - A Ring of Gold), lightly touched by the world of myths and legends. It is illuminated by Farmer's masterly control of structure, tone and imagery.

– Owen Richardson, The Sydney Morning herald